The List of Whales

Carrie Ferguson

Soaring, high-energy, acoustic folk-pop. Original songs ranging from playfully jubilant and quirky to melancholy and gorgeous. Haunting melodies, exquisite harmonies; smart, beautiful lyrics.

"Devilishly catchy folk-pop tunes and melodic ballads, exuberantly heartfelt lyrics...infectious joy" - The Valley Advocate

The List of Whales, Carrie Ferguson’s triumphant second full-length studio album, bridges genres with a dreamy mix of folk-pop and indie rock all held together by Ferguson’s addictively catchy melodies and vivid, carefully crafted lyrics.

Called by the Greenfield Recorder, “beautifully produced ...impeccably arranged” the 12 song CD was produced, mixed and engineered by Garrett Sawyer at his Amherst, MA studio, Northfire Recording Studios. Sawyer’s vibrant arrangements range from toe-tapping and dub-infused (Song For My Addiction) to lush horn, string and vocal arrangements (On the Way to Ashfield, The List of Whales), to moments of beautiful acoustic intimacy (Sealie, To the Moon).

As on her first record, Riding On the Back Of the Wind, Ferguson continues to explore her favorite themes and settings: the landscapes of Northern California and New England (Arcata Song, Grandmother Tree), the complexities of human relationships with each other and the natural world (The List of Whales), the bemusing fact of impermanence in all things (Stretchmarks), and the spiritual quest for self-understanding as a rollicking adventure (Wooden Nickel, Sunlight). All are present in this collection along with hefty doses of her trademark melancholic joy, humor and playfulness.

The record features an all-star cast of Western MA musicians including Jim Henry (Mary Chapin, Tracy Grammer) on guitar and mandolin, Zoe Darrow (Zoe Darrow and the Fiddleheads) on violin, Stephen Katz on cello, Steve Yarbro (The Primate Fiasco) on saxophone and clarinet, and JJ O’Connell (Heather Maloney) on drums.

Ferguson celebrated the release of The List of Whales on January 5, 2014 with a sold-out show at The Iron Horse Music Hall, in Northampton, MA. The release marks the culmination of a year-long project which began in the Fall of of 2012 when Ferguson raised $8,500 using the using the online crowdfunding platform Indiegogo.

Read more… close
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10
  11. 11
  12. 12